586,553 active members*
3,396 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
IndustryArena Forum > CAM Software > BobCad-Cam > Lathe Programing help
Results 1 to 9 of 9
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Posts
    143

    Lathe Programing help

    So I'm still getting the wrong diameter when I do lathe programs. I usually end up being around 0.010" to small when I run the part. Below is the code I did for a 2" diameter part I programmed. As you can see it goes right to 2" on line 9 (My lathe uses diameter mode). But since the tool is an 80deg bit shouldn't it move out slightly to accommodate the tool nose radius? I'm not sure what I am doing wrong that is casing me to be undersized on all my parts. Any ideas?

    I tried changing the cutting angle of the insert on the tool page, but that made no difference in the post.


    O0100
    (Machine Setup - 1 Turn Rough )
    (TOOL #1 )
    N1 G40 G99 G18 G20 G90
    N2 T0101 M06
    N3 M41
    N4 G50 S1000
    N5 G96 S500 M03
    N6 M08
    N7 G00 X2.5 Z0.
    N8 G71 P9 Q10 U0. W0. D.06 F.015
    N9 G00 X2.
    N10 G01 Z-3.3996
    N11 G40
    N12 M01
    N13 M09
    N14 G00 X10. Z0.
    N15 G00 Z5.
    N16 M05
    N17 M30

  2. #2
    Join Date
    May 2013
    Posts
    701

    Re: Lathe Programing help

    I don't run a lathe but I have a question.

    On a 2 inch dia. you say you're approx. .01 under to small.

    How much to small on a 1 inch dia. and maybe a 3 inch dia.?

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Posts
    143

    Re: Lathe Programing help

    It seems to be always around 0.01" small no matter what diameter I turn. That's why I am wondering if it's a comp error or something I am doing that it's not offsetting off the part slightly to account for the tool radius.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    May 2013
    Posts
    701

    Re: Lathe Programing help

    How is the Z axis reading?

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Posts
    1838

    Re: Lathe Programing help

    Do you run with either/both the System Comp and/or the Machine comp on, I never have them enabled, too many issues with them



    If you do have either of them on then give it a try with both switched off

    Also do you set your TNR at the machine control or in BobCAD ?
    If you are able to it in your tool library at your machine control then set you tools in BobCAD to 0.00 for the TNR, , if you don`t use the control for TNR settings make sure they are all at 0.00 in the machine.

    Regards
    Rob
    :rainfro: :rainfro: :rainfro:

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Posts
    143

    Re: Lathe Programing help

    The code above was with the System comp on without collision detection, below it with system comp off

    N8 G71 P9 Q10 U0. W0. D.06 F.015
    N9 G00 X2.
    N10 G01 Z-3.3996

    Bobcad gives me the same code either way, this is why I believe I am having a comp issue where it is not offsetting properly. Would this be a post issue maybe? I assume if turn off comp I should get a different X value then if I had the system comp on correct?

    I do not believe we put the tool radius into the control when we load tools. We do have a tool setter on the lathe, so I am reasonably sure that the tool offset on the machine is set correctly.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Posts
    143

    Re: Lathe Programing help

    I did have the wrong post selected....

    Here is the code with system compensation set "On without Collision Detection"

    G71 U0.06 R.1
    G71 P1 Q2 U0. W0. F.015
    N1 G0 X2.
    N2 G1 Z-3.3996

    Here is the code with system compensation set "Off"

    G71 U0.06 R.1
    G71 P1 Q2 U0. W0. F.015
    N1 G0 X2.
    N2 G1 Z-3.3996

    Exactly the same either way.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Posts
    1838

    Re: Lathe Programing help

    If the code has been generated telling the machine to go to X2 then it can only be something at the machine that is moving the tool to make it cut deeper and that would be likely to be a tool setting somewhere, I think you need to check all your tool offsets and TNR and machine offsets if any are being used.

    It`s not likely to be BobCAD, a G code of X2 means go to X2 so if BobCAD is outputting X2 then it is correct as far as I can see

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Posts
    295

    Re: Lathe Programing help

    Tool nose rad ser to virtual sharp has no effect in straight turning or facing it will only have an effect on diagonals.
    Tool nose radius set to center effects all. The key is a consistant use of either

Similar Threads

  1. compact 5 cnc lathe tool turret programing
    By harvard5 in forum EMCO Lathe
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 03-29-2015, 09:12 PM
  2. programing continuous thread cutting Fanuc3T lathe
    By blekiwajt in forum MetalWork Discussion
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 12-01-2013, 09:08 AM
  3. okuma lathe programing software help
    By ironmike2682 in forum Uncategorised MetalWorking Machines
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 02-14-2013, 02:58 AM
  4. Mazak Lathe SQT15 programing help
    By Machsol in forum G-Code Programing
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 08-01-2008, 07:35 AM
  5. Lathe programing help
    By smitty in forum CNC (Mill / Lathe) Control Software (NC)
    Replies: 24
    Last Post: 06-23-2003, 04:39 PM

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •