587,030 active members*
3,826 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
IndustryArena Forum > MetalWorking Machines > Benchtop Machines > G Code for Sherline Mill help needed

G Code for Sherline Mill help needed

Hi everyone. I'm new to this forum, and a complete novice with regards to CNC. A friend of mine, who shares my passion for playing harmonica, bought a Sherline CNC mill some years ago. He could never figure it out, and asked me to try for him. Since I travel quite a bit, I have not had the time to spend at his house learning all the intricacies of programming the machine. (I've tried the book and manual he has: I'm not bad with computers, but I was lost.) We only want to make one thing (a harmonica comb), and it seems like it would be pretty straightforward. Here is a picture of what we want to make:

We would want to try different materials: wood, acrylic, corian, and brass. One characteristic of a good harmonica comb is that it has to be dead flat. Also, the holes need to be precise. I'm not sure the mill he has can drill the holes, but a V groove bit could be programmed to dimple the precise spots, then drilled on a drill press by hand.

How difficult is this project? Is there anyone here who can volunteer to write the code for us? I hate seeing the money my friend spent on the machine and having it sit in his garage.

Re: G Code for Sherline Mill help needed

The Sherline mill shouldn't have any trouble making that part. If the holes aren't the same size as the collets available, then you'd want to get a Jacobs chuck to hold the right size drill bit: Sherline Drill Chucks But the mill has more than enough power to drill the holes.