587,045 active members*
2,959 visitors online*
Register for free
Login

solidcam mirroring

hello,
    I'm gonna be using mirror functions alot because we mainly produce 1 "normal" and one mirrored part, but I'm just beginning to program and I wonder how do you create entire cam process from "normal" part in mirorred position?
    But I don't just want to create G code for mirrored part(which by the way, changes direction of milling process which is bad and I dont know how to fix it), but also whole new process which can be changed without changing original model.

Re: solidcam mirroring

There is an option to mirror its in the transform option . To access it select all the operations you want to mirror right click select transform. Inside the transform option you can find the mirror option . Bad that it's not keeping the cutting direction!

I would recommand doing it at solidworks.

Producing a mirrored (or 'handed') part in SolidCAM is very, very painful. It stems back to the use of SolidWorks as the CAD engine upon which the CAM system rests.

If you use SolidWorks to create a mirrored part be aware that every single geometry that you have picked from the model will lose its references and will have to be redefined. To get around this I use sketches in a part that I create in the CAM assembly and make sure that the references are broken before the sketch is saved. Also be aware that if your part is prismatic or multi-axis, the MAC positions are difficult to mirror and the best way I have found of doing that is manipulating the SW planes that are created when you generate a sketch from geometry. Messy, but it works! Some people at SolidCAM will tell you that Machine Process and Process Templates are useful for mirroring. This is true only if all the processes are on one MAC position and then again the geometry has to be redefined so there isn't much to be gained really.