586,969 active members*
3,049 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
IndustryArena Forum > CNC Electronics > Stepper Motors / Drives > The Motion Group CNC 2 amp 3 axis controller

The Motion Group CNC 2 amp 3 axis controller

Hello,
    I am new to this forum and I have been a machinist for about 25 years. I have a question about my TMG CNC 2 amp 3 axis controller, it currently works on an old laptop with windows 98 I would like to make it run on a laptop with Windows XP or newer. Does any one have any experience with this? and does anyone know how to make the modification to it to make it run on the newer software? Any help would be appreciated I use this controller to operate a 2 axis Thompson table that I converted to cnc with ball screws and stepper motors I bolt it to my Bridgeport and use it to machine profiles. it works surprisingly well.

Thanks any help is appreciated

Paul T.

Re: The Motion Group CNC 2 amp 3 axis controller

Hoi Paul,

I don't have any info on the TMC controller. Because you say it's connected to a Windows 98 laptop, I expect it's connected to the parrallel port. If that's the case, you need to know what signals are used on which pins of the connector. Knowing that, you might change it for a USB or Network controller which gives the step and direction signals.
    Other than the two axis, does the laptop control any other stuf ( limmit switches, motor , coolant )
    If you provide more info we might be able to help you.

Hey thanks for the response, Would a picture of the inside of the control help? and yes it is running off the parallel port or printer port. It does have limit switches or home switches but I do not have them connected. I don't think it will control coolant or the spindle. I appreciate the help and I will try to take pictures of it tonight and post them.

Here are some photos of the controller probably won't help. Attachment 286538Attachment 286540Click image for larger version. 

Name:	DSCF1523.jpg 
Views:	0