586,655 active members*
2,629 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
Page 1 of 2 12

why is active high safer (limit switches)

I have mine setup using a c10 BOB set for pull down, and have mach3 set for active low, and my limit/home switches are NC. I have 5vdc at the BOB unless a limit is tripped, so of a wire breaks there is no voltage present at the BOB. So, wouldn't it be less safe if I set mine to active high? I don't understand why active high is safer, I am new to this and am missing something..... :drowning:

thanks
    bill (likes being safer than sorry)

Re: why is active high safer (limit switches)

Example: a Estop is usually active low, IOW for normal operation a high is expected, E-stop if low.
    Which also means that apart from a legitimate E-stop, in the event of no power the E-stop will activate.
    Al.
    CNC, Mechatronics Integration and Custom Machine Design

“Logic will get you from A to B. Imagination will take you everywhere.”
    Albert E.

I run active-HI for BoB outputs. No power, or Mach stopped, or something else: outputs are low or dead.
    I run Active-LO for BoB inputs mainly because that way I can optically isolate EVERY input easily. Collector pull-down.

What works for me may not work for someone else.

Cheers

When you set it up as active LOW the switch HAS to make(complete the circuit) in order for it to work. SO if you had a broken wire the switch could never make and you could crash the machine .

IF you set it up as active HIGH then the switch has to break the circuit in order to work. SO if you had a broken wire the switch would always SHOW as tripped and the machine not run.

(;-) TP

Quote Originally Posted by vmax549 View Post
    When you set it up as active LOW the switch HAS to make(complete the circuit) in order for it to work. SO if you had a broken wire the switch could never make and you could crash the machine .