586,530 active members*
2,880 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
IndustryArena Forum > MetalWorking Machines > Okuma > Programming using one tool, 3 offsets??? (MC-V4020)
Results 1 to 3 of 3
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Nov 2014
    Posts
    1

    Programming using one tool, 3 offsets??? (MC-V4020)

    OKUMA Mill MC-V4020

    Im a bit confused, when programming I know the basic T0101 codes, but the mill has a different mind set...
    here is a sample of the program

    what I need to figure out is how to split the groove section into about 3 different offsets to control each feature individually leaving the operators in the offset section ONLY and not trying to adjust sizes in the program...

    NT04 (BACK OF HEAD, SHOULDER GROOVE)
    M01
    G111 A4 R1
    G56 H4 M3 S5000
    G15 H1
    G00 X-1.5 Y1.5 Z1.5 M8
    CALL OGROV
    /M05
    /GOTO NEND
    G15 H2
    G00 X-1.5 Y1.5
    CALL OGROV
    (etc)....

    OGROV
    (UNDER HEAD)
    G01 Z.2780+.075 F300
    G41D4 X0 Y1.0
    G01 Y.8020+.145 F80
    G02 I0 J-.8020-.1445
    G01 Y1.0 F300
    (THREAD ROLL DIAMETER)
    Z-.236+.0665
    Y.757+.146 F80
    G02 I0.0 J-.757-.145
    G01 Y1.0 F300
    (BOTTOM OF WIDEGROOVE)
    Z.1555+.006
    Y.722+.146 F30
    G02 I0 J-.722-.148 F50
    G01 Y1.0 F300
    (TOP OF WIDE GROOVE)
    Z.1810+.074
    Y.722+.146 F30
    G02 I0 J-.722-.148 F50
    G01 Y1.5 F300
    G40
    RTS



    If I take the G41D4 and under each section (under head, thread roll diameter, etc) give each one its own such as G41D14 for thread roll section and G41D15 for bottom of widegroove and G41D16 for top of widegroove leaving the under head section with G41D4

    would that allow me to utilize tool 4 with offset 4,14,15,16? I want to be able to adjust hieght and width for each offset

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Posts
    372

    Re: Programming using one tool, 3 offsets??? (MC-V4020)

    Sounds like a good way to crash it, however, G41 D?? will allow you to adjust the radius offset, in your case the width, to adjust the height you either need to change the Work offset G15 Hxx or the tool length offset G56 Hxx, if I had the choice belween the arsenic or the cynide, I would use the G15 Hxx work offset as this will allow you to adjust the width and the height

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Posts
    15

    Re: Programming using one tool, 3 offsets??? (MC-V4020)

    I agree with bidgieW it is a good way to crash.

    Another option is to use common variables (VC???) and assign them at the top of the program. That way the operators don't have to search through the program. It can be well documented for them to see.

    If you need more help you can email me direct.

    Dean Pullen
    Owner/Applications Engineer
    Circle Support LLC
    [email protected]

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 2
    Last Post: 10-24-2014, 04:17 PM
  2. Tool change alignment on MC V4020
    By dabigguyster in forum Okuma
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 08-18-2013, 04:21 AM
  3. programming multiple offsets
    By hoganj in forum CamWorks
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 07-30-2009, 04:59 PM
  4. OKUMA MC-V4020 tool change jam
    By qbinhtran in forum DeskCNC Controller Board
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 02-21-2008, 11:10 PM
  5. Toolchanging and offsets gcode programming
    By ddanutz in forum G-Code Programing
    Replies: 12
    Last Post: 11-04-2006, 11:39 PM

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •