587,006 active members*
3,030 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
IndustryArena Forum > CNC Electronics > Gecko Drives > Servos jumpy n missing steps....

Servos jumpy n missing steps....

Hi,
    I am currently rebuilding a cnc milling machine which was built using 3x gecko 320's and servo drives. I have rebuilt the control box and generally rewired the whole machine as it was cobbaled together a bit before, however i am encountering a few problems.
    I am fairly new to servos, my last CNC router used steppers which i never had any problems with at all, however these servos seem to have alot of issues going at any slow speed.

I started using TurboCNC as i have always used it, but moved onto Mach 3 as i was running out of ideas and found that the drives were occasionally triggering the EStop line (interfearance ?) and also the drives occasionally jump, stutter and refuse to behave in general. I have adjusted the gain and damnping till the cows come home and am frankly out of ideas!

Is there anything you guys can reccomend?

i am wondering weither having long flying loom (2M) from the machines junction box to the control box and routing of the wires may be interfearing? also the drives fault out alot, if they really start to misbehave...

I am also making the change over to servo’s and experiencing some of the same problems that you are describing. I have gone through and soldered all my connections at the terminals. I thought that maybe I was creating noise or interference at these locations. I can get the motors to spin smoothly one direction, but when I try to reverse the directions the motors spit and sputter. I talked to Gecko and they recommended that I run the motors in both directions too help seat the brushes to the armature. This has helped but not cured the problem. :drowning: