586,640 active members*
2,440 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
Results 1 to 3 of 3
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Dec 2014
    Posts
    14

    Another Cutter Comp Problem

    Hi everyone,

    Long time lurker, first time poster.

    I am new to CNC, so bear with me. I have read a lot of posts regarding the error I'm having, but when it is out of the context of my part I lose understanding of what to do.

    Mill: Tormach PCNC 1100 (Mach3)
    Cam: Camworks

    Problem:
    I am receiving "tool radius not less than arc radius" in the message window of Mach3. Here is a photo of my part:

    Attachment 259762

    I am receiving error when the tool tries to cut the 2D contour (perimeter) path of the part, oriented as in the photo above. When the path is wrapping around the "top" of the crown points (N23), it gives me the error.

    Here is my gcode:

    Code:
    %
    O1 ( PROP-.75LEADIN )
    (CWPOST: TORMACH PCNC1100 BLC TAMPA)
    ( 12-6-2014 )
    
    
    (T22 = 1/2 EM HSS 2FL 5/8 LOC)
    (T77 = 1/8 CRB 2FL BM 1  LOC)
    
    
    (CW OPER= CONTOUR MILL8)
    (1/2 EM HSS 2FL 5/8 LOC)
    N1 G00 G90 G40 G98
    N2 G43 M06 T22 H22
    N3 M08
    N4 G00 G90 G54 X2.7248 Y.1237 S3162 M03
    N5 Z.1
    N6 G01 Z-.6228 F5.6
    N7 G01 G41 D72 X2.2869 Y-.1175 F3.
    N8 G03 X1.9283 Y-.5658 I.3618 J-.6569
    N9 G01 X1.8498 Y-.8369 F11.24
    N10 X1.844 Y-.8506
    N11 G02 X1.4369 Y-1.079 I-.351 J.1486
    N12 G01 X1.4302 Y-1.078
    N13 X1.4236 Y-1.0766
    N14 G03 X.9063 Y-1.0201 I-.5624 J-2.7528
    N15 X.389 Y-1.0766 I.0451 J-2.8093
    N16 G01 X.3824 Y-1.078
    N17 X.3757 Y-1.079
    N18 G02 X-.0314 Y-.8506 I-.0561 J.377
    N19 G01 X-.0372 Y-.8369
    N20 X-.2 Y-.2748
    N21 Y-.2393
    N22 G02 X.4131 Y.0588 I.3791 J0
    N23 G03 X.5996 Y.0752 I.0834 J.1198
    N24 G01 X.6018 Y.0774
    N25 X.604 Y.0795
    N26 G02 X1.2086 I.3023 J-.3188
    N27 G01 X1.2108 Y.0774
    N28 X1.213 Y.0752
    N29 G03 X1.3995 Y.0588 I.103 J.1034
    N30 G02 X2.0126 Y-.2393 I.2341 J-.2981
    N31 G01 Y-.2748
    N32 X1.9283 Y-.5658
    N33 G03 X1.9918 Y-1.1363 I.7204 J-.2087 F3.
    N34 G01 G40 X2.233 Y-1.5743
    N35 G00 Z.1
    N36 Z1.
    N37 M09
    N38 M05
    
    (rest of gcode omitted)
    What I've tried:
    I have tried the following based on advice in other threads:
    1.) To test, I changed the tool diameter in the Tormach tool table to .001 to see if it worked in an air cut test. It still gave the error.
    2.) I changed the gcode from having a lead-in to a simple z plunge. It still gave the error.

    We have limited tooling, so we are using a .5" cutter due to the length of cut we are trying to do.

    What is confusing to me is that the path is on the left side of the cut throughout the part. The "crown" points are separated by a .4" radius arc - which should have no problem handling the .5" end mill radius of .25".

    If anyone can help explain what the error is here, as well as give any advice as to solutions, I'd appreciate it.

    Thanks to this community for answering hundreds of other questions for me!

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Posts
    7063

    Re: Another Cutter Comp Problem

    My guess is the problem is this line:

    N7 G01 G41 D72 X2.2869 Y-.1175 F3.

    This is the line that turns on the tool radius compensation, but though you are using tool 22, it is specifying, in the "D" word, to use the radius of tool 72. I would guess if you edit the "D72" to "D22", it will run correctly. This is likely an error in the Camworks POST.

    Regards,
    Ray L.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Dec 2014
    Posts
    14
    Quote Originally Posted by SCzEngrgGroup View Post
    I would guess if you edit the "D72" to "D22", it will run correctly. This is likely an error in the Camworks POST.
    Ray you were exactly right. The D word wasn't getting set to the correct tool.

    We had a compounding of errors - not only was the cam assigning the wrong tool number to the D word, which then looked up a much larger cutter diameter, but it ALSO was already planning an offset path. This double offset made our arcs too small for the .5" cutter.

    To fix this, we zero'd out our machine tool file's diameter field and plan to only use the CAM values for this.

    Thank you so much for your help!!!

Similar Threads

  1. Cutter Comp Problem on VF0
    By Fairlane6t9 in forum Haas Mills
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 09-19-2009, 04:27 PM
  2. problem using cutter comp
    By functionbikes in forum Tormach Personal CNC Mill
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 07-10-2009, 09:30 PM
  3. Mycenter cutter comp problem
    By Dualkit in forum G-Code Programing
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 02-01-2009, 09:00 PM
  4. Cutter Comp Problem
    By mgb1974 in forum G-Code Programing
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 06-19-2008, 01:07 AM
  5. Cutter comp on an id hole< cutter diam.??
    By PaintItBlue in forum Haas Mills
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 05-06-2008, 12:30 AM

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •