586,075 active members*
3,976 visitors online*
Register for free
Login

Gingery Style Mill

I was bored so i started drawing a Gingery style mill in metric!

Work envelope in this configuration is 450*270*150 mm and the weight is ~33 kg so far...

The base, table and Z column is to be cast of aluminium.
    The ways is hand scraped, cold rolled steel.
    Morse 2 or 3 taper in the spindle and a VFD instead of the belt drive!

I already have a CNC:ed mill but this would be an awesome project. and its nice to have a manual mill that could handle some turning too!

A nice build!
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails gingerystyle.jpg  

Hi JBV, interesting project. This has all the properties of a horizontal boring mill. The bed would have to be a bit longer to accomodate a rising tailstock if it was going to be used as a boring mill, to allow line boring bar support.
    In the design, I take it that you are using alluminium to steel for the wearing surfaces? Should work well. I don't like the idea of using alluminium for the table, too vulnerable to abrasion and indentation. I would make the top bit with the tee slots as a seperate iron or steel piece.
    Ian.

I'm currently building an induction furnace, by my calculations it should be able to handle around 2 litres of aluminium and 0,5 litre steel/iron. So i tried do get the most of it in the design!

The base is around 2 Litres in my first design, so have to be cast of alu, The spindle head i could make of cast iron, but the table is to big! Perhaps if i make it a bit shorter!

Started to draw a more serious design with more details! A stepper, gibs, integrated leadscrews and a MT3 spindle with drawbar! The spindle motor will be on top of the spindle housing or hanging behind the stepper!
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Mill.jpg   Mill2.jpg