586,655 active members*
3,148 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
IndustryArena Forum > CNC Electronics > Stepper Motors / Drives > Help ID these drivers and choose please...

Help ID these drivers and choose please...

Hello everyone,
    I'm a complete newbie here, trying to learn a bit and help my brother out at the same time. He is well versed in running CNC equipment, but not in the workings of the computer/driver/motor/working electronics end of things. He's now ready to do a home CNC build project, and has a few parts salvaged from scrapped equipment.
    First, he's got some Superior Slo-Syn Nema 34 motors which vary from 200 oz in to 450 oz in. The machine these came from was a numerically controlled Boyar-Schultz grinder, and the driver cards are made by Design Animation. He's got a card for each motor, and some other 'main board' controller that the driver cards connected to.
    Design Animation part numbers on the boards are
    150036 rev8
    450022-D
    The main board is # 150033 rev D.
    We're trying to find info on Design Animation and these boards; my searches turn up nothing. Does anyone know if they are useable for a home CNC project? (We're considering Mach for control software). If not I suppose Geckos would be the answer?
    Secondly, he's got some Berger Lahr motors and boards. The motors are
    #URDM 5913/50 LNI. I see from a search they are 5 phase steppers. He's got boards that go with these too, Berger #D550.01. Same questions on these boards, I can't find any info. I believe these were from an IR waterjet.
    We're looking for input on which way to go for the first home cnc build. Any comments based on what we've got?
    Thanks!
    -Gerry

Can you place some pictures of the boards?
    Maybe by knowing the chipset used for the drivers can help you any further.
    I have some 5 phase driverboards laying around, from some I know how to control them so maybe there is a similarity.

AbSat

more info...