586,395 active members*
2,802 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
Page 1 of 2 12

Arduino CNC set-up

I'm new to Arduinos. I have programmed computers and PLC's, but not G code. I'm sure I'll be OK programming simple instructions, but I NEED to know HOW to interface the Arduino to control 5 axis for a CNC I will build from scratch. the build is one thing I probably can handle by myself, but controlling the Steppers using the Arduino is where I do not know. I see many boards for 3 axis and even some for 5 axis, but Arduino seems to only handle three outputs for stepper controllers. I saw one system that a guy appeared to put two Arduinos together and I think along with a Raspberry Pi, but I haven't gotten a response from him for over 2 weeks, so I probably won't. Does anyone know HOW I can control 5 or even 6 axis using 1 or 2 Arduinos? It'll be great to know HOW to have a CAD drawing interpreted into G-code too.

Re: Arduino CNC set-up

Hi,

don't you think this project is a "little" too big to start with?
    At the moment you can't even imagine the problems you will run into - the mechanics and getting an Arduino to generate steps for 5 axis will be some of the smallest problems.

Just one Example:
    With a 3 axis machine it does not matter where your workpiece is. The cnc program and machine movements are always the same - as long as your part is within the working area everything will be fine...
    With a 5 axis machine everything changes. The final program and machine movements are completely different depending on part location and tool length.
    There are a lot of complex calculations involved - and software to do this costs thousands of Dollars for good reasons.

There are a few hobby 5-axis machine projects out there - but I've never seen one actually being "usable" except for some "proof of concept" demo programs.

Christian
    My CAM Software and CNC Controller: www.estlcam.com