587,056 active members*
3,744 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
IndustryArena Forum > MetalWorking Machines > Benchtop Machines > Do any of the mills actually work?

Do any of the mills actually work?

I have been hanging around here for right at 5 years contemplating a CNC mill and a CNC router.

I actually built a Solsylva 13x9 small router from poplar a couple of years ago. It wasn't a wasted effort because I did learn about linear motion, stepper motors and gcode, but the actual router has been of little use to me because I spent considerably more time calibrating it than I ever spent cutting with it.

I would like to get a small mill that would help me in making parts for other hobbies like photography, astronomy, drones, electronics projects, arduino things etc. I would also like to be able to use it to cut some motor mounts, gantry sides, and linear motion pieces to eventually build a larger router out of metal. I would think I would need to be able to mill .75"-1" aluminum or .25" cold rolled steel for some of the router pieces. I should also say that I am not looking to make money from this in any way. So this isn't a production operation and super speed is definitely not required. I make 3D printed parts on a regular basis that take 20 hours to print.

I don't have the budget or the space for a full sized mill and anything I get is something that I will have to be able to move around by myself.