586,392 active members*
2,855 visitors online*
Register for free
Login

Thread: Coil Winder

Coil Winder

Hi there,

About two weeks ago, progress on my current engine project practically stopped when the motor on my bigger lathe died (well, actually my Dad's lathe...). While I was waiting for spare parts (which ended up being a whole new motor), I started playing around with the ignition system for the engine and built a simple ignition circuit that is triggered by a hall effect switch. I have only tested this board with a battery and multimeter, but it seems to be working as it should.

The next obvious question was "what coil am I going to use"? I didn't want to use automotive parts, because of the size, so that left model coils. These coils generally sell for around US$45, which isn't too bad, but since I had the time to waste, I started looking into what it would take to wind my own. For US$45 worth of copper wire, I can probably make several coils anyway. After a fair bit of reading and a combination of rough sketches and CAD drawings, I started to build a coil winder. The only coil winder information and pictures I could find on the internet were for guitar pickups (which apparently don't require 'orderly' winding, while ignition coils do), so the majority of my winder is designed and built the way I think it should be.

I thought about using 2 stepper motors as has been suggested before, but without readily available software (which would take a while for me to write and debug) and the added cost of the steppers and drivers, I decided to go the good old-fashioned mechanical route. The winder is human-powered - hence the crank handle. I will only be winding the secondary coil on this machine (about 15000 turns ), as the primary coil can easily be wound by hand (only about 200 turns).