586,497 active members*
3,116 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
Results 1 to 9 of 9
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Posts
    25

    Kmotion cnc timer?

    Does anyone have a simple solution for logging operating hours on Kmotion CNC the way you are able to in Mach3? I know I could write a c program and have it running in the background, but then I'd actually have to learn how to do that.

    Anything simpler that I might be missing? If not, any help on writing timer program that will save its position would be greatly appreciated!

    Thanks,
    David

  2. #2
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Posts
    4047

    Re: Kmotion cnc timer?

    Hi David,

    What is the minimum requirements that you would need. Would something like a log to a file work for you?

    Regards
    TK
    http://dynomotion.com

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jun 2013
    Posts
    1041

    Re: Kmotion cnc timer?

    I have to say this would be nice to have. For me I would like to see on time for the k-flop and if possible also actual cut time/g-code execution. A log file would work fine. I assume it could be viewed with notepad?

    Ben

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Posts
    25

    Re: Kmotion cnc timer?

    A log file would work fine for me. I just need to keep up a maintenance schedule.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Posts
    4047

    Re: Kmotion cnc timer?

    Here is a patch that should log data like this:

    Code:
    Sun, Jul 13, 2014, 07:28:47  Elapsed Job Time:         6.0 sec C:\KMotionSrc\GCode Programs\earjunk.ngc
    Sun, Jul 13, 2014, 07:29:02  Elapsed Job Time:         7.5 sec C:\KMotionSrc\GCode Programs\box.ngc
    Sun, Jul 13, 2014, 07:29:14  Elapsed Job Time:         2.7 sec C:\KMotionSrc\GCode Programs\AccelTest.ngc
    Sun, Jul 13, 2014, 07:31:03  Elapsed Job Time:         2.8 sec C:\KMotionSrc\GCode Programs\DynoMotion.ngc
    to a file in the data directory called RunLog.txt. The Log entry is appended whenever a Job completes or is halted.

    Here is the patch:
    http://dynomotion.com/Software/Patch...KMotionCNC.exe

    It is compatible with Test Version 4.33cc download and copy to the KMotion\Release folder

    Here is a link to Test Version 4.33cc
    http://dynomotion.com/Software/KMotion433cc.exe

    HTH
    Regards
    TK
    http://dynomotion.com

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Posts
    25

    Re: Kmotion cnc timer?

    Talk about service!! Thanks Tom.

    The RunLog file works great.

    I did have a few problems with the Test Version 4.33cc, but I may be doing something wrong.
    When a g0 gets called that moves my x and b axis simultaneously, it seems to ignore my velocity settings for the b axis and I get a move that is way too fast for the b axis. If I run a g0 for only my b axis, it works fine.
    Also I got a few crashes of the Kmotion CNC program.

    In order to use the patch you provided, I replaced the KmotionCNC file with the one you provided. I assume that was the right thing to do, but maybe not.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Posts
    4047

    Re: Kmotion cnc timer?

    Hi David,

    We found a bug related to combined linear and angular axes limiting angular velocity (and acceleration and jerk) for ABC axes with Degrees mode and Radius=0.

    Please try the patch for V4.33c (copy to the KMotion\Release) directory as you correctly did with the KmotionCNC.exe patch.

    http://dynomotion.com/Software/Patch...nterpreter.dll

    I don't know why you would get any crashes. What were you doing when they occurred?

    Regards
    TK
    http://dynomotion.com

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Posts
    25

    Re: Kmotion cnc timer?

    I couldn't figure out anything common about the crashes, maybe a manual entry of m codes?
    I am using Windows 8 which is a piece of garbage. Do you recommend a particular version of windows? Windows 8 came with the machine from K2, so I just kept it on there.
    I am back our older version on Kmotion, but as soon as the machine gets some down time, I'll try 4.33c and let you know more details if any crashes occur.
    Thanks again for all your help, and for the log program! I am looking forward to getting that implemented.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Posts
    4047

    Re: Kmotion cnc timer?

    Hi David,

    Any Windows Version XP or later should work. I prefer W7.

    Regards
    TK
    http://dynomotion.com

Similar Threads

  1. KMotion CNC.net
    By bradodarb in forum Dynomotion/Kflop/Kanalog
    Replies: 60
    Last Post: 08-15-2016, 03:24 PM
  2. KMotion Download 4.32 is corrupt
    By wentbackward in forum Dynomotion/Kflop/Kanalog
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 07-09-2014, 03:22 AM
  3. Transitioning from using macros to Kmotion
    By dbt3000files in forum Dynomotion/Kflop/Kanalog
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 01-29-2013, 09:51 PM
  4. Kmotion Contorller on 2k CNC
    By Tecton in forum K2CNC
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 02-04-2012, 03:39 PM
  5. Mach3 with Kmotion USB controller
    By DennisCNC in forum Mach Software (ArtSoft software)
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 04-01-2008, 03:14 AM

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •