586,361 active members*
3,302 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
IndustryArena Forum > CAM Software > Vectric > I want to cut one straight line using Cut2D
Results 1 to 5 of 5
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Posts
    7

    I want to cut one straight line using Cut2D

    So I have a dovetail bit and two pieces of wood that I want to make a slider with. I need only make one cut at a certain depth. I usually cheat and make a rectangle the size of the bit but this is not a good habit and didn't work in this instance. I suppose I could make a large rectangle the exceeds the material and use only one side, but there has to be a better way using the software. (I don't write G-Code) Any ideas?

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Posts
    15362

    Re: I want to cut one straight line using Cut2D

    Quote Originally Posted by Phaethon Lives View Post
    So I have a dovetail bit and two pieces of wood that I want to make a slider with. I need only make one cut at a certain depth. I usually cheat and make a rectangle the size of the bit but this is not a good habit and didn't work in this instance. I suppose I could make a large rectangle the exceeds the material and use only one side, but there has to be a better way using the software. (I don't write G-Code) Any ideas?
    It is very simple to write a one line piece of code, You don't even need all of what I have put below, It's a good idea to learn just the basic, so you don't have to do work a rounds in your software as well

    Remove all the dashed lines & this will run, you can change the (G1Z-.1 ) depth of cut, the ( S ) spindle speed,( X4.0 ) the length of cut, & the ( F ) Feed rates


    %
    O3247-----( Program Number )
    G0Z1. -----( Z axes Above Part )
    T8 -------- ( Tool Number )
    G54-------- ( Work Off Set )
    S18000M3 (Spindle RPM Turn Spindle On)
    G90G0X0.Y0. ( Start of Cut )
    G43Z.1H8
    G1Z-.1 F12.----------( Depth of cut )
    X4.0 F60.----------( Length of Cut Feed Rate of Cut )
    G0Z1.
    M5-----------( Turn Spindle Off )
    M30
    %
    Mactec54

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Posts
    562

    Re: I want to cut one straight line using Cut2D

    If you want to use Cut 2D draw a line and do a cut path "on" the vector. Trouble is when it gets to the end it will pull straight up with your dove tail. Maybe draw a really narrow rectangle and do a cut path "outside" .

    Mike

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Posts
    7

    Re: I want to cut one straight line using Cut2D

    Thanks for the G-code, I suppose I will have to learn it in order to do simple CNC files.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Posts
    9

    Re: I want to cut one straight line using Cut2D

    All you need to do is to draw a line that goes back on itself so that the tool comes out at the same spot that it went in.

    You should join the Vectric forum. You would have had the answer straightaway there.

Similar Threads

  1. Best way to scribe straight line down centre of tapered bar?
    By DarrenUK in forum Calibration / Measurement
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 03-01-2014, 07:23 PM
  2. straight line sloped/slanted
    By lasernewb in forum Laser Engraving / Cutting Machine General Topics
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 04-30-2011, 12:50 PM
  3. Line conditioners for CNC Equipment and poor line conditions
    By WSS in forum Waterjet General Topics
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 01-14-2011, 03:07 AM
  4. milling a straight line that follows a 3d path
    By chaz6966 in forum BobCad-Cam
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 03-20-2009, 04:28 PM
  5. Aluminum extrusion as a straight-line ball slide
    By Charlye in forum Linear and Rotary Motion
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 04-21-2006, 03:41 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •