586,393 active members*
2,980 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
IndustryArena Forum > WoodWorking Machines > DIY CNC Router Table Machines > Design/build questions for 5 x 10 wood router

Design/build questions for 5 x 10 wood router

First, let me thank everyone for their contributions. I have been lurking a few weeks and am still amazed and the depth of knowledge shared on the site.

I am a residential contractor of sorts and have been contemplating a CNC wood router build that will be used primarily for sheet goods. Mostly .75" melamine and plywood. (Cabinets, closets, etc.) As such I need to be able to have a y-axis working envelope 60" or greater to accommodate both 5 x 5 and 4 x 8 stock. While I don't expect to replicate an Onsrud, this is not a hobby machine. It may only run a few hours a week, but it needs to be capable of processing a decent number of sheets daily if need be. (30ish, maybe 40??) Based on my research thus far I have the following requirements: (Which are probably all wrong!)

1.) It must be able to consistently and accurately make clean cuts in a nested routing application. (more on this later)
    2.) Vacuum hold down system
    3.) Pneumatic pins for positioning
    4.) Air drill for boring as I anticipate having a single spindle w/o ATC capabilities
    5.) AORN I am planning on a 3kw chinese spindle (water cooled?) with a good VFD (Hitachi?)
    6.) My understanding is cutting speed affects tool life and it certainly affects the bottom line, so I want something that can cut decently fast and clean.
    7.) Budget: Under 10k is the goal, but I have an additional 5k in the budget. (That I would rather not spend!)