586,404 active members*
2,483 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
IndustryArena Forum > MetalWorking Machines > Benchtop Machines > Grizzly G0602 Hybrid CNC build ?

Grizzly G0602 Hybrid CNC build ?

Hey guys, I am new to the whole Forum post thing so sorry if i am posting this in the wrong spot or anything, but the bottom line is i have had my G0602 for a while now and want to do a CNC conversion, but the thing is it is the only lathe that i have at my house and i still love doing Manual turning for alot of my projects, i know with alot of the Mill conversions you can keep the handles on and still use it to manually mill. I was wondering if anybody has done a conversion on the Grizzly G0602 where it can be completely CNC, but also still be used to manually turn with. I have searched the internet high and low and have not found a thing so I am guessing it probably hasn't been done ?

Thanks for any help in advance guys.

Lightbulb

Quote Originally Posted by LJMfab View Post
    Hey guys, I am new to the whole Forum post thing so sorry if i am posting this in the wrong spot or anything, but the bottom line is i have had my G0602 for a while now and want to do a CNC conversion, but the thing is it is the only lathe that i have at my house and i still love doing Manual turning for alot of my projects, i know with alot of the Mill conversions you can keep the handles on and still use it to manually mill. I was wondering if anybody has done a conversion on the Grizzly G0602 where it can be completely CNC, but also still be used to manually turn with. I have searched the internet high and low and have not found a thing so I am guessing it probably hasn't been done ?

Thanks for any help in advance guys.
    Its been done many times over.

Instead of using primitive manual handles, add a rotary hand wheel encoder or even a pair to your conversion.

http://tinyurl.com/m9jb24p

Welcome to the Zone,

Jeff...