586,655 active members*
2,876 visitors online*
Register for free
Login

Smile CNC Axis Calculator

As a project to help get me started programming in C#, I've made an axis calculator to help with CNC router axis calculations.

I thought someone else might get some use out of too, so I'm uploading it here.

It seems to wotk ok, but it's my first attempt at coding so it might be a bit buggy. (chair)

As it's a ".net" application, you'll need the .net framework to get it to run.
    You can get that here:

http://www.microsoft.com/downloads/d...displaylang=en

Here's a screenshot:
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails AxisCalc.gif  
    Attached Files Attached Files

Quote Originally Posted by MrBean
    As a project to help get me started programming in C#, I've made an axis calculator to help with CNC router axis calculations.
    Wow! This has come on heaps since version 1.
    me : leadscrew pitch == 0.8mm, desired mm/min == 1500
    mrbean : You must be on crack man! Ha Ha.

OK, here's your first feature request...
    Save all the settings to a config file which gets opened at startup, so it remembers your previous calculations.

First bug (maybe)! I think the calculation is ignoring the Gear ratio ignore checkbox.

Yup, your program has confirmed my suspicions...my machine is officially a slow donkey. Gotta get bigger pitch leadscrews

Excellent work! Power to the sandals!!

Mr Bean, A good and generous effort. Thanks. I like stuff like this 'cos I usually get this wrong first time round..

Suggestion; how about adding a variable for multi start leadscrews? You know, 1/2-10 two start where the lead is .2... I know its covered by setting leadscrew pitch directly but pitch, tpi and lead are not always the same thing...

Now, How it calculate Cutting / Thrust / Friction Force ?