586,269 active members*
3,373 visitors online*
Register for free
Login

Spindle motor for G0704

I'm planning on getting a G0704 mill shortly. Pricing out all the parts needed to CNC. I am also looking at doing a belt drive conversion. My question is would a 1.25hp to 2.25hp router motor be a good choice for the spindle motor? I'm thinking the peak rpm that the router motor can make is a bit high but can be lowered by pulley ratio. You can find these motors for $100-$150. Not sure how it would or could be integrated with MACH 3. This is my first post and I am very new at any sort of mill or electronics. Thank you for your input.

Quote Originally Posted by Potatohead908 View Post
    I'm planning on getting a G0704 mill shortly. Pricing out all the parts needed to CNC. I am also looking at doing a belt drive conversion. My question is would a 1.25hp to 2.25hp router motor be a good choice for the spindle motor? I'm thinking the peak rpm that the router motor can make is a bit high but can be lowered by pulley ratio. You can find these motors for $100-$150. Not sure how it would or could be integrated with MACH 3. This is my first post and I am very new at any sort of mill or electronics. Thank you for your input.
    spindle control is usually done with a vfd interpreting the signals from your CNC computer.

The problem with that type of motor is theres no speed regulation, which is important for machining metals. Maybe you could use a flat belt to get enough reduction but you still need some kind of feedback speed control to keep the speed stable, something you would have to build or have made. The last problem is there one direction , so you would have to rewire the motor and add a relay control to switch directions, another custom part.
    You are better off finding a dc motor+controller or 3 phase motor+vfd, both will regulate there speed alot better than the "universal" type motor can.