586,655 active members*
2,831 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
IndustryArena Forum > Machine Controllers Software and Solutions > G-Code Programing > Code with Vertical Arcs, and 3 axis travel help

Code with Vertical Arcs, and 3 axis travel help

Im not sure if this is the right place to post this, so feel free to move it if its not.

I need to machine some spindles for my street rod model out of aluminum. Im having a very difficult time writing the code by hand since the finishing moves are moving on all three axes at once. I can write the linear motions pretty easily since its from one point to another, but writing the codes for the arcs (the XYZ coordinates for the start point and end point are completely different) is where I'm having troble since they use relative positioning. Any suggestions?

I had thought about taking my AutoCAD drawings and importing them into MasterCAM but I have no experience what so ever doing that, so Im stuck there. What would I need to import into MasterCAM, and write it into a G-Code for a Fanuc?

Heres a basic wireframe I drew in CAD in 3D, but its not a solid model yet.

Can anyone help? Any assistance would be appreciated.

normal gcode can only do arcs in the xy xz and yz planes. xy is by default (g17)
    G17 – XY plane, X and Y [offsets I, J] [linear Z axis]
    G18 – ZX plane, X and Z [offsets I, K] [linear Y axis]
    G19 – ZY plane, Y and Z [offsets J, K] [linear X axis]

if your arc are not perfectly allinged to those plane they will have to be converted to short line segments. (can't imagine doing that by hand )

sam

edit add. You may be able to add the linear movement in the 3rd axis to get what you want (so you would be creating a section of a helical cut) - but I am not sure that would work for what you want.

G17 default XY plane
    G18 is ZX plane cw (G02) and ccw (G03) is looking from the back of the machine to the front.