586,911 active members*
4,020 visitors online*
Register for free
Login

laser out of focus?

gday, my names jesse, i am new to this and just got a chinese co2 laser cutter engraver 2nd hand. i think its ms1280d, i am setting it up and have leveled the table and started adjusting the beam. i got the tube to fire in the center of the first mirror and when the second mirror is close to the tube, it fires a small dot in the centre but when the second mirror(on the left of sliding arm) is far away from the tube, and the laser is shot, it makes a large burn dot, a lot bigger then the first. ? i have swabbed the mirrors clean but still the same. i am hesitant to swab the tube cause its expensive and i couldnt find anything telling me you could. i guess i am asking if anyone has had this problem before or know any possible soulutions/actions.
    thanks for reading all.

also, i have noticed signs that there was a fire in the machine before, could this be why the beam is getting wider and fuzzier as it gets further away from tube. i also noticed that the previous owners had probly cleaned the mirror with a rock cause they scratched the f%#k out of one. so i found a clean one and swapped it for the one next to a tube (there is 2 heads and 2 tubes on laser) and started alligning but found same problem of fuzzieness as it gets further away..... has anyone got any suggestiopns of something to try? im stuck. ill keep searching but anything will help.
    thanks again

Hiya Jess,

Check the output coupler on the tube (the lens at the output end) it may be dirty or damaged.

cheers

Dave

- - - Updated - - -

Hiya Jess,

Check the output coupler on the tube (the lens at the output end) it may be dirty or damaged.

cheers

Dave

Thanks for reply dave, i had a look at the end but it didnt seem dirty but i am unsure of whether i can use the acetone and swab to clean it. will this damage it or is it the same as a lens or mirror?
    cheers

Hello,