586,133 active members*
2,881 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
IndustryArena Forum > MetalWorking Machines > Uncategorised MetalWorking Machines > WARNING: Complete Newbie, Matchmaker Shizuoka AN-S Retrofit

WARNING: Complete Newbie, Matchmaker Shizuoka AN-S Retrofit

Good morning Learned Ladies and Gentlemen,

I have inherited a Shizuoka AN-S complete with the Matchmaker cnc kit (Posidata 2800), the iron itself is in reasonable condition which leaves Noah's original control system which is presumed DOA. The previous owners were an exceptionally nice bunch and gave me everything they had to go with the mill including 2 rotary A axis, a massive bundle of tooling and 3 DC servos.

Having drawn a blank on ID'ing the electrical fitout on the mill I eventually tracked down an ex-posidata service engineer who has confirmed that its fitted with steppers all round.

So... with the preamble over here's the project asset register;

1 AN-S mill
    1 pile of presumed scrap; stepper motors, control cabinets (small houses),
    2 Jones and Shipman rotary 'A' axis
    3 Baldor servos, (all different but all in the 4.5Nm range, all 180v Max, speeds being 2000, 2500 and 3000rpm)
    1 Fabricator/Welder lost in a world alien to him
    1 budget concious wife

I guess my initial questions would be should I ditch the steppers and fit the baldor DC servos or sell the baldors and fit a new and therefore supported (budget friendly and presumably reduced capacity) set of aftermarket kit?

Options on the table are AC servos and controller, new DC servos, or keep the baldors and spec a system up from there?

All input throughly appreciated, please excuse the newbie nature of the post but its a new field to me and Im keen/desperate to learn

Many thanks

Jez