586,326 active members*
4,168 visitors online*
Register for free
Login

Need a bit of help with the KL-DB25RS 6 axis breakout board

Ok, I am running this BOB using mach 3. This is my first time building a CNC and I am starting from scratch.
    After configuring the EStop, step and direction pins, and assigning the charge pump to pin 17, I hooked a logic analyzer up to the output pins.
    I am consistently receiving Direction signal on Z, Y, and X axis. Either a logic High or Low. I am assuming this is correct. However on the Step Pins for each axis, I am only ever getting a logic High. It never varies at all.

I at first assumed it was part of the charge pump system, but now I have set the output of the Charge Pump in Mach 3 to pin 17, and the Pump LED on the BOB comes on. Even after doing this, the step outputs are the same. I cannot find any decent documentation on the BOB.
    When I probe the serial port directly I do see a nice pulse on the step output, it is just not translating through the BOB.

Does anyone know how to get my output?

Help would be much appreciated.

Here is a link to the BOB:
    KL-DB25RS 6 axis Breakout Board with Relay and Spindle control | Automation Technology Inc

Are you doing any movement when measuring the voltage?

For the direction, you should jog back and forth. You should see 5V in one direction, and 0V in the other. IF you see that, you should be fine. You really can't measure the step pins.
    Gerry

UCCNC 2017 Screenset
    http://www.thecncwoodworker.com/2017.html

Mach3 2010 Screenset
    http://www.thecncwoodworker.com/2010.html

JointCAM - CNC Dovetails & Box Joints
    http://www.g-forcecnc.com/jointcam.html

(Note: The opinions expressed in this post are my own and are not necessarily those of CNCzone and its management)