586,909 active members*
3,343 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
Page 1 of 2 12

My first CNC router

First, I am a complete noob. I have no formal CNC training- everything I know I've learned here or elsewhere on the internet. Three cheers for the internet!

10 years ago I bought a CNC retro kit for my Enco mill/drill. Unfortunately, it never got installed, and now the Enco is long gone. I was left with four servo motors (425 oz in), four Gekko drives, a torroidal transformer, and all the bits to make it all work. I also have 20mm and 25mm linear rails I got from a surplus store.

My other hobby is radio controlled aircraft, so I decided to make a gantry type router CNC so I can build molds and parts for models. It is all made of hardwood and mdf board. My biggest obstacle has been getting the holes for fasteners dead nuts accurate. I have a farily large Y axis- 30 inches- so the machine has to be quite square or it won't be terriby useful for parts that make things fly...

Anyway, if you see an obvious error in my photos and log, please speak up. I basically designed this in Solidworks, but real life is unveiling issues that the computer didn't see.

Click image for larger version. 

Name:	SAM_4495.JPG 
Views:	0 
Size:	293.9 KB 
ID:	186498

The base was harder than I expected. Getting the rails perfectly parallel was a trick. I did it by using one rail to offset the other and then drilling holes. It took some tweaking, but they are very close to perfect. It literally took me 6 hours to get them right.
    Attachment 186500

The Z axis was actually the first thing I built. Then I rebuilt it. Then I rebuilt it again. Getting this right was extremely difficult. Now, I'm rebuilding it one last time because the slide mounting for the router isn't quite long enough...

I'm using 25mm rods for the X axis. Probably a bit overkill, but what the heck. I want it to be rock solid once everything is built.

Name:	SAM_4493.JPG 
Size:	299.6 KB 
ID:	186506