586,366 active members*
3,350 visitors online*
Register for free
Login

Anilam 1400 on Eagle 400

Hey, folks, I'm new to CNC machines, but hve been around electronics for a long time. I have acquired an Eagle 400 mill with Anilam 1400 CNC. I have prints for the wiring, but nothing at the board level. This is the later version 1400, with saddle bag control boxes. The machine is wired for 5 axes, but has only three installed. The Anilam takes a rotary encoder to control position. On the Eagle these are attached to the ballscrew drives, rather than to the table itself.

I want to add a fourth rotary axis. Anyone have experience with this? There is a spot for another Westamp servo card, and the wiring harness is in place, but no card. Anilam doesn't support this machine directly anymore, and the local rep doesn't really have the time to help, though he is a nice fellow.

As long as the control has the ability to control a fourth axis, it may be just fitting and tuning an amplifier and motor.
    If it does, I would look at fitting a modern amp such as A-M-C etc, these run in the more modern Torque mode so the motor does not need a tach like the Westamps. It is usually fairly straight forward to sub. one over.
    Also you would need to know if the fourth axis encoder input is fixed resolution or configurable.
    Al.
    CNC, Mechatronics Integration and Custom Machine Design

“Logic will get you from A to B. Imagination will take you everywhere.”
    Albert E.

congrats on the purchase. I've only run Anilam 3200's, and they are a fine piece of machinery

Thanks, it was a good purchase. The table trams within 0.0005 extreme to extreme, and just needed some cable repair to clean things up.