586,500 active members*
1,860 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
IndustryArena Forum > MetalWorking > MetalWork Discussion > cutting a taper on titanium rod

cutting a taper on titanium rod

I am cuttting a 3.5 " taper 0.217" to 0.055 on a titanium rod. I am having a little trouble doing this, mainly dealing with the flex. I am new at working with titanium. Any suggestions or general comments about working with titanium will be much appreciated.

Thank you
    Marty

Which alloy????

Investigate the recommended cutting feeds and speeds - ditto that of the cutter inserts.

IF you don't CUT titanium, it will work harden and become VERY difficult to cut.

IF you get it too hot, it tends to oxidize (titanium oxide - same stuff used on sand paper) which makes it hard and brittle.

Speeds and feeds are REAL critical. I'd check with your Valenite distritutor - their tech support staff can/will recommend tools, speeds and feeds.

Just be sure you know what alloy you're dealing with when you call.....

The only means I know of for acceptably turning a taper that is 10 or more diameters long and involving more than .5 diameter reduction is to take it in steps.

For this one I'd cut it in not more than half inch step lengths. Make only your first cut to true diameter and leave a couple thou oversize on all the rest. I usually make a support spud to fit between the tailstock livecenter and the small end of the workpiece. Just a short piece of stock center drilled on both ends then drilled through. In place it gives enough support to the free end to allow final cut to dimension full length.

Still probably be a lot of fiddling and trial and error though. I never used the method to cut a taper that long, and with that much reduction on a piece of stock that small a diameter.