587,030 active members*
3,227 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
IndustryArena Forum > CAM Software > CamWorks > Flipping the Z axis??

Flipping the Z axis??

Hi guys!

I'm after a some help with camworks 2012. I'm fairly new to the software, and been trying for days to figure out how I can reverse the Z axis.

Basically, I have a design in solidworks that requires the top and the bottom faces to be machined, I have a fixture for the part that allows me to machine the top face, flip it over ready to machine the bottom face (now facing upwards). The problem is I'm having trouble finding how you tell camworks to machine this other surface, every time I do, when I simulate machining the features on the bottom face the tool enters from other side, going through the entire part.

I hope this makes sense, please feel free to ask any questions if I haven't be quite clear enough on what I mean.
    Any help would be much appreciated.

Regard
    John.

john..

there are several reason can cause this..

your models migth have only a shell and surface normals are showing wrong direction..

also a question.. does your model has ""wall thickness""

wheres your model placed? how did you flip? when you rotating on X or Y axis and you use a point not centered in Z direction then your model in case get virtually """into your machine table"""

then program can think your model is under the defined material block... so it will make toolpath trough on material..

this is weird explanation... i know... but of your description hard to imagine what other can cause ...

i dont know camworks, but your """error""" can be read on many forum with different programs.. by other users.. means folks falling in same error..