586,144 active members*
3,453 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
IndustryArena Forum > CAM Software > BobCad-Cam > V23 Need help with a gear (spline)

V23 Need help with a gear (spline)

Hey guys, first post. I am new to bobcad, had it for a while but am not very savy with drawing. I have a spline that I cant seem to figure out how to draw. The closest thing that bobcad has for a template is a gear. I have attached a picture of what I am trying to do. Any help would be appreciated.
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails photo.PNG  

Did you get an answer yet? Create a triangle from the walls of one of the teeth. Then rotate/copy 4, 360. Then rotate copy those 45 degrees. Then rotate copy those 22.5. Break all of those and clear out the middle. Extrude the "star". Create a circle at the inner diameter of the tooth and extrude that and boolean union it to the extruded star. Create a circle at the outer diameter of the tooth and create another one well outside of the part. Extrude those 2 deep enough to encase the part and boolean diff that from the part.

I appreciate the reply because no one has but what you said may as well be in Chinese. Haha! Ill give it a try though. I actually dont need those two circles shown, I just need to know how to draw the spline and edit it occasionaly for different parts.

Quote Originally Posted by jaredg View Post
    I appreciate the reply because no one has but what you said may as well be in Chinese. Haha! Ill give it a try though. I actually dont need those two circles shown, I just need to know how to draw the spline and edit it occasionaly for different parts.

I started a thread to find out what happened to
    http://cadcamtrainer.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=2