587,035 active members*
3,242 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
IndustryArena Forum > WoodWorking Machines > DIY CNC Router Table Machines > Advice needed on speed/feed and climb vs conventional for black ABS sheet

Advice needed on speed/feed and climb vs conventional for black ABS sheet

Hello everyone,

I'm new to the CNC world and I just finished my FLA-100 build. I'm trying to cut some 1/8" thick black abs plastic sheet. I'm using a 1/8" single flute end mill to cut.

My first results were poor, I was trying to cut a simple circle but I ended up with a melted blob and the piece lifted off the table and was vibrating.

Any advice on feeds (down into the piece vs. horizontal) and spindle speed would be great.

Also, when routing profiles in these sheets, should I be using climb or conventional milling?

What depth should I step into the material for each pass?

Thank you for your help!

Melting? How many RPM? Too many?
    Abs blunts a HSS so quick, it will make lots of heat before too long.
    If you look at cutter with magnifying glass you will see the rounded off cutting edges.
    ABS conducts heat badly so it hangs around. I've found spraying with water helps.
    I have found convention milling gives a better finish due to the initial rubbing pressure of cutter burnishes the surface.
    Recycling chips, as with other materials, leads to a poor finish too.
    Climb milling works OK until the cutter looses it's edge, then it is all downhill.
    Super X3. 3600rpm. Sheridan 6"x24" Lathe + more. Three ways to fix things: The right way, the other way, and maybe your way, which is possibly a faster wrong way.

RPMs were about 13500, my router can go as low as 8000 if I need to.

I think I may have also stepped down into the material too much. Maybe I would benefit from running a helix pattern at a shallow angle?

How many flutes on your tool?
    -Andy B.
    http://www.birkonium.com CNC for Luthiers and Industry http://banduramaker.blogspot.com