586,438 active members*
4,111 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
IndustryArena Forum > Community Club House > Mentors & Apprentice Locator > Looking for a mentor in the Plano/Dallas area

Looking for a mentor in the Plano/Dallas area

Probably a long shot, and probably not a typical "apprentice" candidate, although you never know. I'm retiring from the Navy after 20 years and even at 43, I am still amazed at what cool things a machinist can turn out.

So, having the opportunity to reinvent myself at this point in my life, I was really wanting to do something with my hands and actually make something. After 20 years of "management and leadership", I'd really like to create something tangible.

I have no experience on any kind of machining equipment, but am drug free, honest, hard working, educated and mature. I can send a resume to any potential mentors or provide character references. I do consider myself mechanically inclined.

Anyway, if by some slim chance there is someone out there who could be my mentor, I'd absolutely jump at the chance.

R/
    Dustin

I do not have any machines or a shop, but I can probably help you out with some education basics and software questions you might have.

Quote Originally Posted by txcncman View Post
    I do not have any machines or a shop, but I can probably help you out with some education basics and software questions you might have.
    Wow, that was a quick response...all the more reason I'm happy as hell to have chosen TX as my permanent home (actually closing on my house on Monday, yea!)! I would be grateful for any information/knowledge/skill that you'd be willing to share with me. I got a few months left here in Japan until I retire, but when I get to Plano permanently, may I contact you then? Again, thanks for the generous offer!