586,855 active members*
2,515 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
IndustryArena Forum > CAM Software > BobCad-Cam > Load V.24 on Win 7 or 8?

Load V.24 on Win 7 or 8?

Hi there, I am a newbie and have BobCAD v.24, never installed (long story) but I have order an iMac and want to run v.24 on Windows but don't know whether I should order Win 7 or 8. Will be based on Parallel.

If you are very knowledgeable about Parallel I am interested in how to set up the RAM for it - as in the max RAM I can allocate. I am going to max out the iMac with 32 Gig.

If you have other suggestions I am open to them.

Thank you.

Jon

V24 is a 32 bit program... Nothing more than 4 (3.16) will do....

I dont know anything about Parallels.

I've heard win8 is not good.... thats all i have....
    Using CNC Masters Supra Knee Mill, 4 Axis vari speed. Bob Cad V-23, V26, Bob Art

Martin thanks for the Win 8 information. I think I'll get Win 7.

BurrMan, being a newbie I don't understand the "4", is that 4 gig of RAM? Been a long time since I have used Windows. Good to know that V24 is a 32 bit program too. Thanks for the reply.

"V24 is a 32 bit program... Nothing more than 4 (3.16) will do...."

Oh BTW, Parallel is the "program" for the MAC that allows them to run Windows. Apparently one can set the amount of RAM for that environment. There are several of these type programs including bootcamp which comes with the MAC OS. Parallel allows switching between the Windows environment and the MAC OS environment without having to reboot while bootcamp requires a reboot.

"4 gigs of ram"....... A 32 bit OS cant access more than 4 gigs of ram. 2 gigs system, 2 gigs app. Mods can be made to give 1 gig system, 3 apps.

Parallels is an "emulation" environment. Not recommended for 3d cad. You will be relying on parallels to act like a video card. Some may have done it, but it's not recomended. Bootcamp is a boot manager. Mucho preferred. Actually running windows.