586,317 active members*
3,421 visitors online*
Register for free
Login

Convert CNC router to 3D printer?

I have a Magnum Phoenix GS CNC router. I replaced its outdated electronics with PBX-RF RF Isolated CNC Breakout Board and three MondoStep 7.8A drivers. I use Mach3 software to control the machine. What do I have to buy to convert my CNC router to 3D printer? I think I have to buy:

3D printer head > Which one is best?
    Stepper motor for 3D printer head
    Stepper motor driver
    Heated bed

How do I configure Mach3 software for 3D printer?
    I have Cut2D V1.5 software. Do I need different program to convert 3D models into code for Mach3 software?

I am new to this too and doing the same only on a CastCNC Joe's CNC machine I built.

Here is what I bought:
    1. extruder with a stepper motor and a heater cartridge
    2. hot end on the extruder (my QU-BD MBE extruder had these first two items already but I am not sure how good this extruder is)
    3. Heated bed - I bought QUBD's
    4. 4th axis to control the stepper - Sure there are cheaper ways (like a pololu 4988) but I am using a 2nd G540 purchased from dan mach
    5. a way to control temeratures of hot end and a heated bed if you use one - I am using Nuri's boards - GnexlabStore - I bought a gecs2tc1 (thermocoupler) and a gecs2ts1 (thermister) as the heated bed is thermister and the heater cartridges will be thermocoupler monitored
    6. power supply for the hot end and heated bed and maybe a fan on the extruder - I am using a 30amp 12V Dc $30 shipped on ebay power supply
    New 12V DC 30A 360W Regulated Switching Power Supply for LED Strip Light | eBay
    7. K type thermocoupler long enough to get to your controller from youer hot end
    8. Way to attach extruder setup to your Z

Nuri's site has info on slicing with a plugin for Mach. I want to try that.

Not sure cut2d does anything with stl files - prob need aspire for that.

More to come as I learn more