586,379 active members*
3,458 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
IndustryArena Forum > CNC Electronics > Phase Converters > Sizing of a Inverter Drive?

Sizing of a Inverter Drive?

I have a Routermaster 52 that came with a 5.5 HP Perske Spindle and an EMS Variable Speed drive (MODEL G3U-23P7, S/N 952004537, Model: C1MR-GJU23P7, SPEC: 23P71E)

My understanding is that the drive requires 3-phase input. My shop only has a 40 amp supply with 230 volts.

What do I need to do?

- I am assuming that I cannot use the EMS drive.
    - I see 5kw inverter drives that convert 1-phase to 3-phase on eBay, but I'm not confident that it would work (I just don't know enough about the subject)

Any input would be appreciated!

Thank you!

getrolfed

You can use your 230V single Phase power, just wire the VFD using L1 & L2 plus Ground for the input power, this is for the EMS VFD, the power output will be lower than if it was run on 230V 3 Phase
    Mactec54

Many drives can be fed with 1 phase, but I believe over 3hp the drive size needs to double to compensate for the 1phase power loss, if you want to run it at max FLA. 5hp motor use a minimum of 7.5hp drive, 10hp better.

Quote Originally Posted by mactec54 View Post
    getrolfed

You can use your 230V single Phase power, just wire the VFD using L1 & L2 plus Ground for the input power, this is for the EMS VFD, the power output will be lower than if it was run on 230V 3 Phase
    Do NOT connect the ground to one of the input terminals!!!

I doubt that's what mactec meant, but the way it was worded could be interpreted that way.