586,796 active members*
2,940 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
Page 1 of 2 12

New guy here... A lot to learn

Hello everyone, I just stumbled across the forum a few weeks ago, and holy cow... I've got the itch to get into an entry level cnc plasma table for my garage, and don't have tens of thousands to spend. I'm a welder/fabricator for a living with very little machining experience, and even less electronics. But, I just feel I need to have a cnc table for the house for my many projects (hardtail bobber, offroad toys, random artsy stuff, etc.) has anyone got any experience with the gearhead cnc Hobbyplaz? Is it even worth looking into, or should I just learn all I can and build a table myself? I'm definitely on a budget, and don't need HD accuracy, mostly just making tabs, the occasional suspension parts, whatever. All welded and jigged pieces though. It seems that everyone here is extremely knowledgable in cnc equipment and hopefully I don't get laughed out of the forums for my lack of knowledge. But I want to learn! Thanks in advance for any and all input. -Sean

There are some good options out there. But I personally have a plasmacam 4x4 system. It is probably one of the most affordable units that come with really straight forward and simply to use software. I heard some good things about this company too Home | GoTorchGoTorch. They use plasmacam's controls and software and appear to be extremely affordable. You might check them out.

Larry