586,389 active members*
2,956 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
IndustryArena Forum > MetalWorking Machines > Benchtop Machines > Tormach PCNC1100 vs CNC Mill Drill

Question Tormach PCNC1100 vs CNC Mill Drill

Was wondering if anyone can compare the the Tormach with a converted RF31 mill drill. I have a CNCMasters Mill drill and was wanting to upgrade to a more solid mill. Dont get me wrong the mill drill has gotten my small business off the ground, and has paid for itself many times, but it is time to upgrade to a more solid mill. I am wanting to find somthing as solid as my upgraded emco f1 mill. My F1 will out perform the mill drill all day long on my smaller parts. I just dont want to purchase another mill drill. Maybe I should bit the bullet and spend the big bucks for a larger VMC. Thanks for your help.

Hi Sidoiler;

I haven't seen the Tormach in person yet. It is the type of investment where it would be a good idea to do so. I have to wonder if there will be a display at Cabin Fever or NAMES.

All that aside if you are in business you have to evaluate what your needs are based on the ability to pay for the hardware and attrack future business. The Tormach may be to small for that, but no one here knows as we are not involved in your business.

In any event I'd think seriously about a new machining center or an older one if you are into rebuilds. A fair compromise would be a Bridgeport conversion. It sounds like you built your business around small parts, that is if a mill/drill can handle it. So we are not talking about a huge machining center here.