586,358 active members*
3,393 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
IndustryArena Forum > CAM Software > Mastercam > Easy question: cutout perimeter of 3d part

Easy question: cutout perimeter of 3d part

Im a complete mastercam newbie. I have a 3d part. Ive setup my rectangular stock. I want to cut the 3d part's 2d perimeter (looking down). How do I go about this? I think im supposed to use contour, but what chain do i select if the part is 3d? Do I need to manually draw a perimeter around the part and use that for my chain?

Use a 2d countour tool path.

You'll need some geometry to chain which may or may not be available in your file.

Create > curve on all edges

Simplest is to use a C-hook, it creates a flat wireframe from your selected surfaces or solid faces

Alt-C to open the available DLL's, scroll down to find CREATE_BOUNDARY.DLL
    -set the Z-level that you want the new geometry to be on ( suggest it be placed above the part ie Z+0.1")( default is usually at the Z origin )
    -set the level (layer) ( use a new one, so you can turn it ON/OFF individually)
    -set a different color ( so it stands out from the other wireframe features )

- select the model's surfaces &/or solid faces, & accept
    follow the prompts to get what you need

then you can use this new geometry in your toolpath op

Do you actuallyl want to cut the 3d part, or do you want to cut the 3d profile

If you want to cut the profile, create the profile by the menu drop down
    "Create - Sillouite Boundry"

Same Principal as what Superman said, but it is within the software, don't have to go to a chook.

you will probably want to be in 2d (toggle switch at the bottom of the screen) and have z set to zero (window right next to the 2d / 3d toggle switch)
    It doesn't have to be that way, but it will make more sense to you when you create the profille toolpath, assuming your Machine "Z" origon is from that same place on the model.

you can just do