586,795 active members*
2,748 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
IndustryArena Forum > CAM Software > Mastercam > A couple of questions about MC

Lightbulb A couple of questions about MC

I have some experience with mastercam, however, I've kind of found myself in a position where I need a couple of questions answered... Hopefully somebody here can help me out. I'm currently using MC9 but soon to be using MCX

1. Is it possible to use a solid as a stock piece? For instance, say you have a solid of an existing casting, can I use that solid to determine where it's actually cutting rather than a rectangular prism or cylinder when doing verification?

2. This is about 4th axis milling... Am I correct in assuming that you need to create a new WCS every time you want a feature at a different A angle? What if I wanted to drill 45 holes around a cylinder? would I need a different WCS every time?

Any help is greatly appreciated
    http://smackaay.com
    Visit my site

1. In v9 you can use a solid as a stock for verify. You need to draw your solid casting, save as an STL, and then in the verify dialog select "use file" for verify stock definition.

In X, there is an option right off the bat in the verify dialog to use a solid as a stock. That solid has to be in your current file, and visible on the screen. If it meets those criteria, you can bypass the the stl stage. If you want to use a solid in a different file for stock def, then you need to save as an stl and go the previously mentioned route.

2. For 4th axis, you do not use wcs to change A. output. It will not output a A move in your post (generally speaking). You set your wcs, and then leave it. You change you Tool and Construction plane (T/C), and THAT will output A. moves.

hth.

Hello,