586,588 active members*
2,801 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
Results 1 to 8 of 8
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Posts
    196

    2.5D Plugin for Sketchup

    Hi all. I've been working on a plugin that will create gcode for my CNC router. This plug-in

    will take your 3D model and create 2.5D toolpaths for use on your CNC. Just download the Ruby

    file and put it in your plugins folder. I'm not a programmer by trade. I just started learning

    at the beginning of this year. This script took me that last 5 monthes to create and it probably

    is not coded the greatest, but it works!

    Plugin available here: http://forums.sketchucation.com/view...?f=323&t=45496

    = CNC 2.5D Profile
    Copyright 2012, John Groeschel
    All Rights Reserved

    == Disclaimer
    THIS SOFTWARE IS PROVIDED "AS IS" AND WITHOUT ANY EXPRESS OR IMPLIED WARRANTIES,
    INCLUDING, WITHOUT LIMITATION, THE IMPLIED WARRANTIES OF MERCHANTABILITY AND FITNESS
    FOR A PARTICULAR PURPOSE. PLEASE VERIFY GCODE CREATED PRIOR TO RUNNING ON CNC. I AM NOT
    RESPONSIBLE FOR DAMAGE AS A RESULT OF USING THIS SCRIPT.

    Permission to use, copy, modify, and distribute this software for
    any purpose and without fee is hereby granted, provided that the above
    copyright notice appear in all copies.

    == Information
    Author:: John Groeschel
    Pieces of this code came from the following:
    -Hatchfaces.rb by Joel Gustafsson
    -Offset.rb by Rick Wilson
    Organization:: none
    Name:: CNC 2.5D Profile
    Version:: 0.1
    SU Version:: I developed this on SketchUp version 8. I have not tested on previous versions.
    Date:: 05-May-2012
    Description:: Creates gcode for CNC applications using 3D models in Sketchup
    Requires:: No additional scripts
    History::
    0.1 beta:: 22-May-2012
    * Original release

    Usage:

    There are a couple of settings within Sketchup that need to be set. Select Window/Model Info and

    this window pops up:



    Uncheck the "Display units format" If you don't, the inches symbol (") will show up in your gcode

    and your controller software will not recognize it. You can also set your precision to what you

    want in your gcode file. Whatever the precision is set to here, is what your gcode files decimal

    places will be.

    A few more rules to using this script. First, the part cannot be below the X-Y plane (tabletop).

    It will give an error if it is. Second, the script is set up that if looks for the closest point

    to the origin in the X-Y plane to determine where to plunge down. The best place to put your part

    is in the +X/+Y quadrant. If you do not, there could be a possibility that there are two closest

    points to origin and Sketchup will pick one at random, which could cause the tool to plunge where

    you don't want it to. Third, inside radii need to be modeled slightly larger than half of the

    cutter diameter. For example, if I'm using a .25 diameter endmill, I need to model my INSIDE

    fillets to .13 inches. If you really need a .125 radius, you can use a smaller endmill or model

    the inside corner sharp. This is not a problem on outside radii.


    Here is the model that I want to machine. The model is placed in the +X/+Y quadrant.



    Your part must be in a group or this script will not work. If your model is not in a group, the

    script will give you an pop-up window stating that your selection is not a group. Once it is in a

    group, select it and select CNC 2.5D Profile from the plugin menu.



    The option menu pops up. Fill in what you want for this cut. The values that you enter are stored

    in a text file in your plugins folder. The next time you run the script, the plugin will read

    these values back into the options panel.



    The script will run. When it is done, a file save menu will pop up asking you where you want to

    save your gcode file.



    When completed, the cutter paths are displayed on the screen. The cutter paths are put on a

    separate layer, so you can toggle them on and off.



    Here is the output of the gcode file in NCplot

    http://jgroshoppages.blogspot.com/

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Posts
    196
    I fixed some bugs that I found while testing tonight. The latest file (v02) is available at the link in the first post.

    jgro
    http://jgroshoppages.blogspot.com/

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Posts
    0
    Awesome job figuring that out!

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Posts
    438
    Not sure what I am doing wrong. Make a square in sketchup 8 and when I generate the g code all seems good but the g code is not generated for the square.
    Thanks
    Using Sketchup v 8, free version, windows 7 64 bit.

    ( This file created by CNC_profile.rb )
    ( Cutter Diameter: 0.25 )
    G20 ( Unit of measure: inch )
    G90 ( Absolute programming )
    M03 ( Spindle on [clockwise] )

    G00 Z1.5 F30 (Move safety height)
    G00 X0.00 Y.00 F30 ( Move to origin )

    G00 X0.00 Y.00 F30( Move to origin )
    M05 ( Spindle stop )
    M02 ( End of program )

    end

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Posts
    196
    Is the model in a group? It needs to be grouped in order for the plugin to work.
    Try the attached model and see if it works and we'll go from there.

    jgro
    Attached Files Attached Files
    http://jgroshoppages.blogspot.com/

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Posts
    8
    Thank you!
    Is great to have another plugin to create gcode.
    I also use for this purpose Phlatscript an excellent plugin.
    www.phlatforum.com


    I ask the courtesy of some moderator delete this topic in duplicate
    I have not found how to do this

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Posts
    0
    The following stuff is very best valuable for me as I am more interested about licensing and copyrights of the software.
    Permission to use, copy, modify, and distribute this software for
    any purpose and without fee is hereby granted, provided that the above
    copyright notice appear in all copies.
    markdlee

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Posts
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by macccdonald View Post
    The following stuff is very best valuable for me as I am more interested about licensing and copyrights of the software.
    Permission to use, copy, modify, and distribute this software for
    any purpose and without fee is hereby granted, provided that the above
    copyright notice appear in all copies.


    patent attorneys australia
    markdlee

Similar Threads

  1. SliceModeler plugin for SketchUp
    By asteronimo in forum News Announcements
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 01-20-2012, 09:00 PM
  2. Sketchup to CamBam Plugin
    By Gabriel MILL.er in forum CamBam
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 09-17-2010, 03:57 PM
  3. Shuttle Pro Plugin mod!!!
    By PoppaBear10 in forum Tormach Personal CNC Mill
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 07-28-2009, 03:13 PM
  4. TurboCAD CAM plugin
    By Fluxion in forum Uncategorised CAM Discussion
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 06-27-2009, 08:37 PM
  5. 3D-Wire DXF Export plugin for SketchUp 6.
    By ihkim in forum Uncategorised CAD Discussion
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 11-16-2008, 06:21 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •