586,321 active members*
3,718 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
IndustryArena Forum > MetalWorking Machines > Benchtop Machines > my list of parts for a Bolton ZX45 conversion

my list of parts for a Bolton ZX45 conversion

I have been a long-time lurker, and will be pulling the trigger on a ZX45 sometime next week (i already have a non-CNC-G0602 and figure i should have a mill too . At the same time, I intend to buy all of the stuff to do the CNCing, and was hoping to get some feedback on my parts list. I have been scouring this forum for a couple of months and have a spreadsheet of other's builds and the parts they used. I am sure I am missing some stuff, but they are unknown unknowns.

Automation Technology 3Axis 1125oz Servo Kit
    3 ballscrews 2005-750/940/1100mm endmachined + 6 nuts
    UPDATE: Some Type of Enclosure (not a computer case)
    Timing Pulleys from sdp-si.com (not sure of the size)
    Belleville Washers (from McMaster (part number?) - 140lbXY 180lbZ, 5 each axis)
    Timing Belts from sdp-si.com (not sure of size)
    Limit Switches

If the AutomationTechnologiesInc kit is undesireable, I will go with these:

Automation Technology KL34-180-90 1125oz
    Gecko G320X Drivers
    Digikey encoders 102-1307-ND
    CNC4PC C11T breakout board
    70VDC 1000W Antek Power Supply

What are you planning on doing with the machine? What state of conversion are you planning?

I think the DMM setup is very well put together and comes complete for electronics. If I was starting id be looking there.

Also, I didnt realize how touchy Mach 3 is. Flashcut is close in cost once you really start adding things up. I might end up there anyway. Its worth review if you need a reliable machine.

Your list is the basic blocks, but there is alot outside of that, im still ordering crap all the time. Bearings, loads of hardware, wire, tubing, dont forget the oil system.