587,141 active members*
3,698 visitors online*
Register for free
Login

Poor quality finish

I have an old Denford CNC Starmill.

I don't have a lot of machining experience as I am only a hobby machinist so I was wondering if there was anyone more experienced on here that might know the cause of the problem I'm experiencing.

I have just machined a flat face on the top of a block of mild steel. If you look at the attached image you will see that the resulting finish is terrible. I used a 10mm cutter and the depth of cut was only about 0.3mm.

You can see that I have ended up with quite visible "rings" from the cutter. They are clearly visible but only just detectable when running a finger across them so in essence are not as bad as they look.

Has anyone seen this before and have an idea what causes it?

Thinking logically I can only imagine that the cause must be some sort of play in the Z axis?

Anyone got any thoughts?

Many thanks in advance.
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Rings.JPG  

You got play in the Z axis alright..... In the form of shot spindle bearings.

In the alternative, perhaps your Z axis drive motor is got some noisy signal problems or isn't holding position..

Throw an indicator on the spindle, reading off of a good quality parallel laying flat on and clamped to the table while you're
    taking that same cut...you'll only need one pass, not the whole block. If, while the X axis if feeding you get fluctuations in the indicator,
    then you know it's the Z axis drive motor.... if it doesn't fluctuate and you get the pattern, then it's bearings.

Thanks both for the responses.

I actually just replaced the spindle bearings and, to cut a really long story short, couldn't get any torque data for how tightly I should secure the retaining collar that clamps them in place.