Let me start off and say that I’m not a machinist by trade, I worked at a very large machine shop for about 4 years part time. During that time I ran a lot of different machines in the machine and sheet metal side of the shop but never set up any programs or jobs, I was always assisted in this task. I have gotten very interested in the machining of parts; it has helped me in my current career. I’m an Auto Technician by trade and been in the field for more than 30 years. I have since acquired an older Bridgeport mill with a Southwestern Industries ProtoTRAX plus controller that I have learned to operate and program very simple parts. It has worked very well and has been operating flawlessly. The problem is that it has taken me too long to machine complex parts that I need for all of my projects.

I had been doing some research on the internet and a lot of CNC forums, I had for found that it would be much easier to acquire a CAD/CAM program and it could do a lot of work for me and make my life easier enabling me to make the needed items. I found that Dolphin caters to the Hobbyist, so I purchased Dolphin Cad/Cam about 10 months ago. I understand the CAD and CAM side of the program; I have written quiet of few drawings to get to know the software. I have a good friend that is a programmer and he has looked at it and has agreed it has some nice features. The problem is that I have not made one part with this software; I cannot get it to send a correct post to my controller. It errors out ever time or accepts the program and then stops in error. Once it errors out I can’t do anything until error is corrected. I try to make changes to program, but it makes it worst.