586,494 active members*
2,643 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
Page 1 of 6 123

Also building a CRP4848

Hello all. First time post. I've been a cutting tool engineer for 32 years and I finally decided to set myself up with a machine to work on some of my own projects. I'm building the CRP4848 from CNC Router Parts. Looks like there are going to be quite a few people building this machine. I'm going to try and add both pictures and video of my build as I go along. I want to try and show the actual assembly for those that might want to purchase and build their own. Going to try and link a video showing the electronics I will be using.

Base components.

Here is an over view of the machine base components.

Assembling the base.

Assembling the base. Here are a few pics of the fasteners and angles supports. The Button Head Bolts screw into the ends of the cross members and slide into the slots into the side rails. The short bolts need to go into the inside of the angle supports so you can get a socket on them.

Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Base-1.JPG   Base-2.JPG   Base-3.JPG  

Adding X-Axis Rails & End Stop Bumpers.

Clean the steel plate first with a rag. I used a fine grit foam pad to remove surface scale and oxide. Wipe clean and wipe on some WD-40. Line up the bolts on the rail with holes in the plate and lower the plate on to the rail. Just sung up the nuts for now. The plates will need adjusted when putting on the Risers.
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Base Rail-1.JPG   Base Rail-2.JPG   Base Rail-3.JPG  

Assembling the Gantry Risers.