586,944 active members*
2,282 visitors online*
Register for free
Login

Hot Spindle on V2XT Bridgeport

I am a Newbie here,
    I recently purchased a v2xt, as a hobby for now.
    I have only milled one aluminum part and a mockup part for my vacuum
    cleaner, to repair it.
    I have noticed that the spindle near the nose gets to hot to touch. I can hold my hand on it for a few seconds.
    Under no load it gets warm.
    Does anybody have any ideas as to what it could be?

Any help with this is appreciated
    Thanks in advance

its the bearings, next challenge is to figure out 1) if they are toast or 2) it sat around for so long it is just in need of lubrication, 3) work was done on the spindle and it was over tightened. I'm less sure of the applicability of the last one, but with lathe spindles overheating can be an indicator you've loaded the bearings too much. I've had lathe spindles apart, but never a vertical mill - Hopefully you don't need new bearings because they will be expensive.

Any recourse with the vendor? any chatter or other symptoms? do you know if (or does it look like) any work was done on it lately? how’s the bearing lubricated? do you have a manual, exploded diagram, etc? those are some things you can start on.

Maybe someone here has more direct experience with that spindle

If you have the maintenance manual, you are that far ahead of the game.
    Probably you have a bad spindle. There are two results to a bad spindle. One is heat caused by bad bearings, high friction (no oil or too tight a preload). The other is a bad finish (tool and spindle loose in bearings). Hopefully someone tried to put new bearings into the spindle and did not know what he was doing.