587,030 active members*
3,778 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
IndustryArena Forum > WoodWorking > WoodWorking Topics > DXF file Vs real job output

Question DXF file Vs real job output

Hi,

I am new to CNC Routers.

I got few 2D cutting work done on a 8 mm thick wood with a 3 mm drill bit and got good output as the design has big cuts. (Actually i just send the corel files to the CNC guys and they cut it)

Right now i am working on some more designs that are very complicated and have a lot of tiny cuts (PFA attached DXF file) and i am not sure how will the output look on wood. (I am not sure that i have all cuts > 3mm as the bit is 3 mm thick)

Is there any tool, software that has the functionality to show how would a cut look with a particular drill bit ? Or a tool that can replicate CNC movement and output on screen instead of wood ?

Any pointers will be big help.

Thanks.
    Attached Files Attached Files

When I imported your dxf file into Vcarve Pro it is a very large size.

316.8707 inches (8048.516 mm) wide
    1019.3867 inches (25892.422 mm) tall

I scaled it down to 48" wide by 96" tall as our plywood sheets are manufactured here and used a 1/8" (3mm) end mill cutter to set up a simulation in Vcarve Pro. I didn't add tabs that hold the parts in place, but that is easily done. The cuts go all the way through, but they don't have to. This could be a V carving if a V-cutter is used instead of an end mill.

Vcarve Pro and Cut 2D from Vectric.com can do this simulation with ease. There are many other software programs that can do this.

CarveOne
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Planter 2D.jpg   Planter 3D.jpg  
    CarveOne
    http://www.carveonecncwoodcraft.com

Thanks a lot.

I tried the Cut 2D software. I put in the actual job sizze that was 13" X 42" and I set the toolpath profile and i can see the output like you posted above.