586,131 active members*
2,751 visitors online*
Register for free
Login

303 Feeds and speeds

I am trying to cut 303 stainless steel using a 3/16 TiN HSS end mill. It is currently running at 1400 rpm, 11 ipm, 0.02 depth of cut. As can be seen, it is stepping the cut. Through a process of elimination, I believe this is being caused by the tool flexing. I am looking for advice on how to fix this problem, whether my rpm or ipm are wrong, and what is a reliable way to calculate these as I am entirely self taught, both in machining and CAD/CAM, and the learning curve is steep.
    Thanks.
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	PA020013.JPG 
Views:	0 
Size:	83.7 KB 
ID:	144729

end mill stick out length

the most important factor when using a end mill is how long it is and how far it is sticking out of the collet
    a 3/16 end mill sticking out 3/8" is 8 times more rigid than one sticking out 3/4"
    basically if sticking out 3/4" the depth of cut is reduce by 1/4 and feed reduced by 1/2
    the rule is 2x longer then it is 2x2x2= 8 times less rigid
    3x longer then 3x3x3= 27 times less rigid

The end mill is sticking out approximately 3/4 in. Does this mean I should be running at 5.5 ipm and 0.005 depth, but still at 1400 rpm?

parameters

Quote Originally Posted by brento View Post
    The end mill is sticking out approximately 3/4 in. Does this mean I should be running at 5.5 ipm and 0.005 depth, but still at 1400 rpm?
    3/16 dia end mill
    2 flute ?
    stickout length 3/4"
    milling 303 SS with
    machinabilty rating 0.78 cubic inches per minute per hp
    70 sfpm
    1426 rpm
    max depth of cut 0.036"
    max Feed 4.1 ipm
    chip thickness 0.0015"
    coolant ? cutting oil can help. chips can stick to cutting edge and to flutes or clogging flutes can put addition pressure on a end mill
    rough power calculations
    0.035 hp
    0.028 cubic inches removed per minute
    end force 7.6 lbs
    torque 0.71 inch pounds