586,129 active members*
2,789 visitors online*
Register for free
Login

Hobby mill with cnc conversion

So im looking at getting into hobby milling and converting it into cnc. I know absolutely nothing about these machines and need help to pick out something that would be well suited for me as a beginner. I know of the mills sold by harbor freight and as far as i know this is going to be m best/cheapest option. Not sure if the smaller one that they sell for $599 will be big enough or should i step up to the $1100 model. If you know of any other companies that may be cheaper/better please let me know. Any help and insight on my decision making process would help a ton as like i said i am new to this and am learning as i go. Thanks!

so after doing some research i found the larger harbor freight option is wayyy bigger than i thought and it seems the smaller #44991 would be perfect. as far as motor mounts with screws i think i will be going with the cnc fusion x,y,z kit. i am not too sure where i can get the stepper motors from though. i mean i am sure i can find them but i am not sure what size/brand/type i need and where might be the most cost effective place to get them. any help would be great as like i said i am very new to this stuff and am kinda just diving in here...thanks so much for the help and suggestions.

The smallest (and probably cheapest) thing you can get is Chinese "Xendoll" W-series. There is even CNC model available. But it is more like a toy.

It is good for occasional hobby work like milling acrylic since it's "all-in-one" (lathe, mill, drill press, jigsaw etc., like Lego). It is clone of metal CoolTool's Unimat-1. But it is very weak and cannot do heavy-duty work at all.

well i am certainly not looking for a toy. i have already decided on the harbor freight mini mill as a starting point. i think the last thing i need since i already decided on the cnc fusion xyz ball screw and mount set i need to find motors now.