586,347 active members*
3,607 visitors online*
Register for free
Login

Thread: Confused

Page 1 of 2 12

Confused

This is my first CNC machine I'm building. I have no experience so could use a little help choosing boards and motors. I'm building a 3 x 4 work table with
    light weight aluminium, the lead screw is 1/2" 10 threads per inch. I'm looking to get a good quality break-out board, stepper motor board, Etc. I'm retired and on a limited budget, so I want the most bang for my buck.

I've narrowed it down to three sellers.

The first is this one. From what I understand this is a very good controller. Any opinions??

Geckodiver G540 4 axis kit (One G540 + Four
    NEMA 23 KL23H284-35-4B (1/4” Dual shaft with a flat) 387 oz-
    in + one KL-600-48 48V/12.5A 115V /230Vpower supply):
    $574.95

The second one is this one:

Stepper Driver and Electronics for CNC Routers

4 Axis Electronics Combo - $470.00
    (4) 425 oz-in stepping motors
    (4) Drivers (3.0Amp 24-40 Volts, 1-1/64 microstepping)
    (1) 36v 8.8a Power Supply
    (1) Breakout board

And the third is:

4-Axis CNC Stepper Motor Driver Kits

Kit Includes: $459.00
    4x ProboStep VX Uni-Polar Stepper Motor Driver
    4x HT23-400-8 400ozin Stepper Motor
    PBX-2 Parallel Port Breakout Board
    24Volt 8.5Amp Switching Power Supply
    6ft. DB25 Male-to-Male Cable
    4x 4" IDC Cable 10-pin

They all seem to be very good people to deal with. Hopefully there are people here that can help me make a decision. Thanks

The G540 is the best of the 3, imo.

If you haven't yet purchased the 1/2-10 acme, Dont! They will severely limit the performance of your machine
    Go with a 2 start or 5 start screw instead. If you don't do it now, you'll end up doing it soon enough anyway. Better off spending once.
    Gerry

UCCNC 2017 Screenset
    http://www.thecncwoodworker.com/2017.html

Mach3 2010 Screenset
    http://www.thecncwoodworker.com/2010.html

JointCAM - CNC Dovetails & Box Joints