586,443 active members*
2,938 visitors online*
Register for free
Login

3D tool pathing

Hello, I drew up on object in solid works and am trying to tool path it. I am new to mc and can tool path 2D, but have never done 3D. Thank you for any help yall can provide. Forgot to mention, I am using the x5 educational version.

Well, that's asking a lot on a forum for such a generic question but I'll give it a go.

First: Have you imported the file into MC from SW? .stp, .iges, or SWformat?

The first thing I usually do after I have my solid in place is to Create Curves from the solid and place them on another Level. A lot of times this will let you use the wireframe to chain 2D paths unless your part has Zero 2D work to be done......

You will then want to create your stock boundary depending on what kind of stock shape your model requires.

Most of the time you will need to work with containment boundaries to make the most efficient toolpath. Sometimes I use the X-form Project icon to "project" my curves I created earlier to a flat 2D plane and use the wireframe for my containment boundaries.

That's enough to get you on the right path before actually adding toolpaths to your model. Just read through the help files on all the Surface and Surface High Speed toolpaths to see how they work.

Thank you for the help. Is there a way to post a picture of the object on here? I cant remember what file i imported it as. I believe it was the standard parts file. Once again, thank you for the help.

You can take a Screen Shot of your part, and attach the file here with your next post.

Here is the part that I am trying to tool path.
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails mastercam.jpg  

I haven't used mc in years and should probably butt out (fools rush in etc)
    but.....