586,369 active members*
3,354 visitors online*
Register for free
Login

2 Q's 3.5a controller with 4.6a motor.

If I were to connect a 3 Axis controller with the TB6560 chip. and it produces 3.5A for the motor, if I connect motors that are rated at 4.6A, will the motor still work just at a slower speed? will I burn something up? will it not work at all?

I found a kit I want on ebay. but since I am new to automation and stepper motors and such, I am clueless as to what I am doing.

I found some motors and I thought it would not be a big deal to get the motors and then get a controller.

Seems my logic was totally flawed. these Nema 23 motors that are 150oz have 8 wires and require 4.6A

Have not been able to find a controller like the one I like that is rated for 4.6A. it will only drive motors up to 3.5A

Now I am looking around and I am finding numerous motors that are rated for 3.5A or less and are 240oz.

So I am thinking I am just going to buy the controller. If my current motors will work, great, if they dont then I will probably just purchase ones that will and I will be stuck with these motors.

Anyway, main question. will a 3.5A controller do anything with my 4.6A motors?

is there any other inexpensive places to purchase motors and controllers. Everything outside of Ebay seems to be real expensive. and I am just starting out and would like to keep my conversion of my mini mill as cheap as possible.

Thanks

Ron

Typically, the driver would be "current limited" so that it would only draw the amount of current that it was set for. If your motor is rated for higher current, but you drove it with less than that amount, you would get less than the rated torque out of the motor.

The TB6560 boards with which I am familiar are rated for a maximum of 3.0 amps.