586,753 active members*
7,378 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
Results 1 to 4 of 4
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Posts
    69

    H & T code agreement with D

    i know setting 15 will lock the tool to match the height
    is there a way to make sure the dia matches as well?

    hypothetical example;
    wrote a program, set all the tools, then manually changed from T5 to T25 due to problem with tool holder
    ran program and it errors because of mismatch T & H
    manually change to H25
    ran program, crunch due to wrong dia in offset page
    forgot to check for D5

    so can they be locked all together?

    didnt happen (yet!) but we came close
    but just thinking out loud
    HAAS TM-2
    Mastercam X4/X5 - Level 3 - Solids @ work / HLE @ home

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Posts
    12177
    I do not think there is any way to tie Tn, Hn, and Dn all to the same number like Setting 15 ties T and H together.

    I have done your 'crunch' in reality several times over many years and hundreds of programs. But even if I could tie T and D to the same number I probably would not because often I use two, or more, tool diameters for the same tool.
    An open mind is a virtue...so long as all the common sense has not leaked out.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Posts
    684
    Two ways you could do it if you have macro programming capability: -

    1. Setup a macro program that is called up on your G43 Hn; command,
    which contains something along the lines of .....

    %
    O9???;
    G43 H#11;
    D#11;
    M99;
    %

    2. Something similar to my approach which is to program Tool numbers as variables stored in a sub program eg ...

    T#101 M6
    G43 H#101 D#101

    That way if the tool number changes you only have to change a single number in your sub pgm :

    #101=1 (Face Mill)
    #102=6 (End Mill)
    #103=5 (Drill)

    On Haas it would be best to make this sub part of your main program (and you would need to make sure it was called at every restart)

    DP

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    35
    Instead of using the actual 'D' number, enter 'D#4120'.
    This will use the 'D' value for the last called tool.

    Fine in all instances other than if you are running a side-mount t/c and are doing a preload of the carousel, i.e.
    T1 M06;
    T12;
    With this command, T12 is the last tool, so the control would use the D12 value not the D1.
    >>>>>>>>>> Made In England <<<<<<<<<<

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 4
    Last Post: 03-29-2011, 02:39 PM
  2. Converting Fanuc G code to Seimens 840D G code
    By Jasbinder in forum SIEMENS -> Sinumerik 802D/808D/810D/828D/840D
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 02-20-2011, 05:02 PM
  3. Replies: 8
    Last Post: 12-15-2010, 09:32 PM
  4. Tool # and length offset agreement
    By Vern Smith in forum Haas Mills
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: 12-18-2008, 02:42 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •